Glass City Training-Week 8

Remember all that talk about being fearless and taking chances? It has officially become my motto for Glass City. Be bold, be fearless. I’m posting my Week 8 training midway thru Week 9 and so far, things have been going great. I even got to run outside a few times….words cannot even begin to express the joy. Spring is no longer a fickle mirage miles in the distance. She’s right around the corner, I know it. Kids seriously, I spied 50s next week #suckitwinter.

And now for a little Type A fodder….Glass City Week 8 Training:

Sunday: 5.7 miles @ 8:56/ spectating my amazing friends at Last Chance for Boston
Conditions: Outside, frigid AM
Fuel: Banana before, water
Thoughts: Can’t remember the last time I was just a spectator. Marcie and I had so
much fun making signs and cheering everyone to the finish. Lots of our girls were
running the 5K and hoping for a PR, conditions (snow covered portions of the
course) did not allow #suckitwinter. Our girls Meggie and Allison won the Half
Marathon relay. How anyone can run a one mile loop course for 26.2 miles is
just beyond me.

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: Speedwork- 10:00 warm 6 x [2:00 @ 7:15 pace/ 2:30 recover] 5:00 cool
Conditions: Treadmill AM
Fuel: Banana before, water
Thoughts: Felt good and strong despite being on the treadmill. It is REALLY hard for me to run fast on the treadmill. Maddening actually. Not
to mention supposed pace is completely not accurate, effort/pace is
completely misaligned on my TM. Even more maddening.

Wednesday: Easy/Foundation Run- 6 miles @ 9:04
Conditions: Outside, cold and windy, super AM
Fuel: Banana before, water
Thoughts: One of those BLAH runs, never really felt warmed up. Did get to meet up with
my 430 AM Wednesday crew, had been weeks since we had been together
(#suckitwinter). Love my girls but did not love this run.

Thursday: Easy/Foundation Run- 4.25 miles @ 9:24
Conditions: Treadmill PM w/ the added atmospheric challenge of small rowdy rugrats
circling me like a kettle of vultures
Thoughts: No thoughts, just the following outbursts…”Get off the treadmill!”
“No, no, no, no backflips on the couch.” “No, I can’t Facetime your friend’s
mother to relay specific Minecraft instructions to your friend so you can
hook up right now.” Wait, no I lied….one thought, damn I need a drink.

Friday: Rest

Saturday: Long Run- 9 miles @ 8:46
Conditions: Outside PM, gorgeous and sunny, chilly
Fuel: Banana before, water & Honey Stinger waffle during
Thoughts: Love my solo miles esp on the OT. Ran into Marcie who was nbd crushing 18 miles. Actually felt crappy and did not feel like I had enough in the tank.
Legs felt really heavy. Ready for Whole30 to be over….I’m having a lot of
difficulty with keeping my carbs up with such a restricted diet.

Total Mileage: 29.15

Did I say I’m over this Whole30 biz? 5 more days until I eat all the bread.

xo

Leave a Reply

