Welcome back summer!

Summer is officially here!! My absolute favorite time of the year. The Florida girl in me is jumping for joy these days. I love everything sun, flip flops, lazy days outside, cookouts, baseball, summer dresses and pool fun. I detest everything winter and am still reeling from our 50 degree Memorial Day weekend (you better make up for that shit Mother Earth).

Our weekend was full of lots of fun surrounded by these fabulous ladies…

20130603-144707.jpg

and these crazy kids…

20130603-145918.jpg

I still can’t believe my little boy is moving on to 2nd grade. He’s loving the later bedtimes and his first season of Coaches Pitch. Wet bathing suits and towels have already become staples on the bathroom floor.

20130603-150534.jpg

But Jess, this is a running blog….what about all the sweat sessions you’ve endured the past few weeks?? How many miles have you logged in your Mizunos? Are you clocking a sub 8 minute pace yet? Are you foam rolling your IT band after every run, are you even stretching after your runs? You’re not refueling with Summer Shandy again, are you?

………(crickets chirping)…….

Did I forget to mention that although I love summer, I absolutely hate running in the heat? Combine that with an absolute loathing for the treadmill and your left with some pretty narrow windows of opportunity. I seriously need to work on my hydration issues because that right now is my biggest struggle. I feel like I get dehydrated very quickly even on super short runs and Nuuning it up during the day when I know I’m going to run after work. I don’t carry a water bottle and continuously end up in parks with chronically malfunctioning water fountains. Any nuggets of wisdom would be welcome!

Despite the heat I was able to run 3 whole times this week including 6 miles on Saturday, my longest run since the half. So much for base building…

20130603-155249.jpg

Leave a Reply

