KidSmiles 5K-Glacier Ridge

Saturday  was Race Day #2! It was such an amazing day. We had so much fun and I was thrilled to be running with not only my speedy sister Carly but my Mom too!!

KidSmiles is a fantastic organization founded by my sister’s orthodontist, Dr. Homon. The organization provides free dental care for uninsured children and low-income families in central Ohio. They are opening their first KidSmiles clinic in September, all staffed by volunteer dental professionals. My amazing mom will be one of those part-time volunteers. Needless to say we were all super pumped to race for such a great cause.

The alarm was set for 7am with no snooze options included. The race started at 9am but we still had to make it in time to get our packets. After my Starbucks Doubleshot , Luna bar, OJ, and bathroom stop we were ready to hit the road. We had some very special cheerleaders in tow for this race. My aunt and uncle from Florida were in town for a short visit and coming to support us!

The race was at the fantastic Glacier Ridge Metro Park in Dublin. This was a smaller event….maybe 250 runners, but let me say the KidSmiles team put on a fantastic show! Free stuff galore….I mean come on dreams are made of a Tim Hortons truck doling out free Iced Capps and smoothies. Stinger the Columbus Blue Jackets’s mascot was there and of course my dear drama queen went batshit crazy. She trembled suction cupped to her daddy’s leg for about the first 30 minutes. Luckily she eventually got over it and was able to function normally accompanied by frozen lemonade and hot pink kazoo lips.

My goal for this race was to finish around the 28 mark. Unfortunately I had gotten a nasty cold the past couple days and was worried I was going to feel a little sluggish. The atmosphere of the event and all my little cheerleaders helped a ton. We were ready to race!!

My sister ran with me the whole time during the last 5K. This time I didn’t want to hold her back so we ran on our own. I’m not quite ready for an 8 minute pace. I hung back with my mom who already knew she was going to walk-run it.

The race started and I jogged with my mom all of 10 seconds. The insane competitor in me was going crazy and I darted ahead and on my own with her blessing.  The first 1.5 mi was tough. Although it was early it was hot and the majority of the course was in an open field with zero shade. The sun was just beating down on us. After the first half I picked it up a bit and was able to keep a pretty steady pace. I tried to focus on relaxing my upper body and just putting one foot in front of the other. I could see Carly about 30 seconds ahead of me..I tried to catch up to her but that didn’t happen.

Our cheering squad was stationed at the final bend and the support was incredible. High fives galore as I pushed to the end.

I cruised thru the finish line at 28:03 (9:00 pace). Goal accomplished! I was so excited, shaved 2:30 off my time. Carly finished around 27:30. She later confessed that she thought that the course was awful. My rookie ass didn’t have much to compare it to . We both met up with the fam to cheer mom on to the finish.  As we saw her round the final stretch she was walking. As soon as she saw her cheering section she started running again and made it all the way across the finish for a 39:00 finish. I swear she was skipping.

And who would have thought…

Mom placed 3rd in her age group!!!! How awesome is that?! We all three had such a great time and were so excited to run a 5K together….mom’s first since she was pregnant with me! Here’s to many many more family runs…

One thought on “KidSmiles 5K-Glacier Ridge

  1. Congrats on your race! I love your blog and seeing the kids. I cant beleive how much they’ve grown!!!
    love,
    Shannon

Leave a Reply

