Let’s talk about my 5am run…

You heard correctly….5am run. Words can’t express how proud of myself I am….however given the fact that we are living in the blogosphere…I shall do my best to articulate.

 

Let me back it up a little bit….

 

I have a new passion…a passion that is completely novel (for me), challenging, exciting, and quickly taking over my life. ..

 

No it’s not Pinterest…

 

That my dear friends is RUNNING. It all started in March when I decided that I was feeling bored and unambitious and was searching for a short term goal to work towards. You know, since it’s clearly not enough to work a full-time job, raise two small children, manage a household where the hubs works two jobs, and all that jazz…..

The end result was me hitting the Register Now button for a 5K in May with my super speedy sister Carly and dear friend Sara. Now I must confess that although I attempted (and by attempted I mean completely half-assed) to train for this event,  I was completely starting from scratch (ie. back in the day even thinking about running more than one mile made my knees hurt) and given our crazy schedule, finding it very difficult to squeeze in the miles under my feet. I used the trusty Couchto5K program and initially started on the treadmill given the fact that it was still chilly (April in Ohio) and running after the kids were asleep (pitch dark…not really interested in running with a weapon). I quickly learned that I could not stand running on the treadmill, so time on there was very very limited. Once May rolled around I was able to move things outside and from there committed to running at 7pm 3-4x/week. My mileage was very small and before my 5K I ran a very huffy puffy 3 miles only once. My goal was to run the entire time and to finish in about 30 mintes….but more on that later. Let’s talk about my 5am run.

Let me preface this by admitting to the fact that I am NOT a morning person. I’m a chronic snooze button smasher and normally wake up in a panic realizing I have 20 minutes to get three people ready and out the door. I am pretty much running late for everything at all times..in every aspect of my life. I am certainly not proud of this particular quality…but hey at least I’m completely and 100% upfront about it. I’ve been reading quite a few “healthy living” type blogs lately…a lot of them running themed. There are a ton of runners that rave about morning runs. There’s something pretty badass about waking up way before anyone else in the neighborhood and getting some miles under your feet. Pre 5am run Jess would have adamantly disagreed….post 5am run Jess is pretty certain they’re on to something….

My alarm went off at 5 on the dot and I was oh so ready. I slapped on my running gear and took a quick peak outside. It was a little too dark for my taste so I wasted time for a half hour. At 530 the light was finally peaking beyond the horizon enough to get moving. The weather was perfect (a glorious 72 degrees) and the birds cheered me on. I really wanted to snap a picture on my phone for a dynamic illustration, but then I remembered I live in the suburbs and my little track around Lazelle Woods Park was hardly Central Park. It was a very short run as I’m running my second 5K on Saturday and per my training schedule, I was only to run 2 miles. It was a very comfortable 2 miles and I clocked in at 19:21 (9:41 pace)…fine with me!  My legs felt great and the amount of energy I had at the hour shocked me. It was pretty exhilirating having the whole track to myself…ok maybe not completely by myself…there was ONE other runner…you go random dedicated running man. ..I really wanted to go high five him…

 

So who knows, maybe there will be some more 5am runs in the near future….

Leave a Reply

